## SPECIAL TOWN MEETING MINUTES June 25, 2012

Town Moderator, Robert J. Long, called the Special Town Meeting to order on June 25, 2012 at 7:35 p.m. at the Town Hall Auditorium, 298 Central Street, Saugus, MA with 47 members, plus the moderator present.

Joyce Rodenhiser and Edward S. W. Boesel were appointed and sworn as tellers.

Darren Ring and Stephen Doherty will, as a courtesy, be making motions this evening.

Town Moderator Robert J. Long led the meeting in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Assistant Town Clerk, Marianne Moses, called the roll.

Town Meeting Member name	Present /Absent	Town Meeting Member name	Present /Absent	Town Meeting Member name	Present /Absent
ALLAN, P.	p	FALASCA, T.	р	MORIELLO, G.	a
ATTUBATO, J	p	FOWLER, J.	p	MOSCHELLA, D.	a
BARTOLO, J.	p	GILLIS, J.	p	MOSES, J.	p
BILLINGLSEY, S.	p	GOODWIN, P.	p	PALCZYNSKI, J.	p
BOESEL, E.	p	GROARK, L.	p	PETKEWICH, P.	p
BROOKS, W.	p	HAWKES, T.	р	POLITANO, K.	p
CARLSON, E.	p	JOHNSON, P.	p	RING, D. S.	p
CICOLINI, J.	p	JONES, W.	p	RODENHISER, J.	p
CONNORS, A.	p	KRAMICH, W.	р	ROSSETTI, P.	p
COTTAM, D.	p	LEUCI, J.	p	SERINO, A.	p
D'ANNA, S.	p	LONG, R.	p	SPENCER, B.	p
DEVER, M.	p	LOPRESTI, A.	р	STEWART, W.	p
DEVLIN, F.	p	MALONE, B.	p	SULLIVAN, B.	p
DINARDO, A.	p	MALTAIS, S.	p	SWEEZEY, S.	p
DOCKERY, M.	p	MANOOGIAN, P.	р	VADALA, P.	p
DOHERTY, S.	p	MCCARTHY, S.	р	VECCHIO, M.	p
FAIELLA, E.	p	MCLAUGHLIN, P.	p	Quorum count=	48

A quorum is met.

Moderator Long stated that after the Special Town Meeting was completed tonight, he would like to continue on to the Annual Town Meeting Warrant, with Articles 2, 6, 15, 16, 17, 42, 7, 12, and 13 still needing to be voted on.

Mr. Dennis Moschella was noted in attendance at 7:45 p.m.

Moderator Long thanked Town Manager Scott Crabtree, Collector/Treasurer, Wendy Hatch, their staffs and all members of the Finance Committee for their efforts on behalf of the Town, noting that they have all been working nights and weekends to get a budget ready for a vote tonight. Mr. Long further thanked Town Clerk, Joanne Rappa and Assistant Town Clerk, Marianne Moses for their efforts as well.

Mr. Palleschi, Chairman of the Finance Committee, noted how proud he is of his Committee, as they have been meeting several times a week and always had a quorum, while working diligently and extremely hard.

Mr. DePatto, Vice Chairman of the Finance Committee, gave the report of the Committee, stating that they voted to refer Article 2 to the next Annual or Special, because there is no identifiable source of funding at this time.

Stephen Doherty, as a courtesy to the Finance Committee, moved Article 2 to be referred to the next Annual or Special Town Meeting.

Seconded at 7:55 p.m.

## **Article as written:**

Article 2. To see if the Town will vote to raise and appropriate or transfer from available funds a sum of money to pay the Memorandum of Understanding between the Town of Saugus and the Saugus Police Superiors Officers Union which reflects the arbitration award of the Joint Labor Management Commission relative to award settlement for pay raises for Fiscal Years 2012, 2013 and 2014 for the Saugus Police Patrolmen's Union, or to take any other action relative thereto. (Town Manager)

Mr. Anthony LoPresti moves Article 2 with an amendment added to the end of the article to read as follows: \$84,886 = 6% increase to Superior Officers Union, funding to come from the stabilization fund. Remaining 7% to be paid on July 1, 2013.

Seconded at 7:57 p.m.

Mr. LoPresti, Maureen Dever and John Vasapolli all spoke on the article.

Thomas Coogan, representing the Superior Officers, spoke on the Article as well as Jeffrey Moses, William Cross, representing the Fire Fighters, Peter Vadala, Matthew Vecchio, Stephen Sweezey, and Michael Dockery.

Maureen Dever moves to make a substitute motion to refer Article 2 back to the Board of Selectmen.

Seconded at 8:33 p.m.

Ms. Dever explained that in the interest and fairness, she would like to see the Board of Selectmen have the opportunity to look at the article and possibly come back to a Special or Annual to give the Superior Officers a chance to have this article passed. Ms. Dever asked for a roll call vote on the amendment and article.

Michael Serino, Chairman of the Board of Selectmen, Edward Boesel, Ellen Faiella, Matthew Vecchio, Peter Manoogian, Maureen Dever, Anthony LoPresti, and Thomas Coogan all spoke on the Article.

Vote on Ms. Dever's motion to refer Article 2 back to the Board of Selectmen.

Article #	2	Dever Amendment to Refer	r back to	Board of Selectmen	
Tireles II	Vote	Devel immendment to rece	Vote	Dour a or percentien	Vote
ALLAN, P.	N	FALASCA, T.	Y	MORIELLO, G.	A
ATTUBATO, J	N	FOWLER, J.	Y	MOSCHELLA, D.	N
BARTOLO, J.	Y	GILLIS, J.	N	MOSES, J.	Y
BILLINGLSEY, S.	Y	GOODWIN, P.	Y	PALCZYNSKI, J.	N
BOESEL, E.	Y	GROARK, L.	Y	PETKEWICH, P.	Y
BROOKS, W.	N	HAWKES, T.	Y	POLITANO, K.	N
CARLSON, E.	N	JOHNSON, P.	N	RING, D. S.	N
CICOLINI, J.	N	JONES, W.	N	RODENHISER, J.	Y
CONNORS, A.	N	KRAMICH, W.	Y	ROSSETTI, P.	N
COTTAM, D.	N	LEUCI, J.	Y	SERINO, A.	N
D'ANNA, S.	N	LONG, R.		SPENCER, B.	Y
DEVER, M.	Y	LOPRESTI, A.	N	STEWART, W.	N
DEVLIN, F.	Y	MALONE, B.	Y	SULLIVAN, B.	N
DINARDO, A.	Y	MALTAIS, S.	N	SWEEZEY, S.	N
DOCKERY, M.	Y	MANOOGIAN, P.	N	VADALA, P.	N
DOHERTY, S.	Y	MCCARTHY, S.	N	VECCHIO, M.	N
FAIELLA, E.	N	MCLAUGHLIN, P.	Y		27 . 0 00

Yeas: 21 Nays: 27 at 9:00 p.m.

Dever Motion does NOT pass.

Vote came on Referral to the next Special or Annual Town Meeting, as recommended by the Finance Committee.

Article #	2	Finance Committee Recommendation			
	Vote	_	Vote		
ALLAN, P.	N	FALASCA, T.	N	MORIELLO, G.	A
ATTUBATO, J	N	FOWLER, J.	N	MOSCHELLA, D.	N
BARTOLO, J.	N	GILLIS, J.	N	MOSES, J.	N
BILLINGLSEY, S.	N	GOODWIN, P.	Y	PALCZYNSKI, J.	N
BOESEL, E.	Y	GROARK, L.	Y	PETKEWICH, P.	N
BROOKS, W.	N	HAWKES, T.	Y	POLITANO, K.	N
CARLSON, E.	N	JOHNSON, P.	N	RING, D. S.	N
CICOLINI, J.	N	JONES, W.	N	RODENHISER, J.	Y
CONNORS, A.	N	KRAMICH, W.	Y	ROSSETTI, P.	N

COTTAM, D.	N
D'ANNA, S.	N
DEVER, M.	Y
DEVLIN, F.	Y
DINARDO, A.	N
DOCKERY, M.	N
DOHERTY, S.	N
FAIELLA, E.	N

LEUCI, J.	Y	SERINO, A.	N
LONG, R.		SPENCER, B.	Y
LOPRESTI, A.	N	STEWART, W.	N
MALONE, B.	Y	SULLIVAN, B.	N
MALTAIS, S.	Y	SWEEZEY, S.	N
MANOOGIAN, P.	Y	VADALA, P.	Y
MCCARTHY, S.	N	VECCHIO, M.	N
MCLAUGHLIN, P.	Y		

Yeas: 15 Nays: 33 at 9:05 p.m.

Article 2 as recommended does NOT pass.

Mr. Manoogian, Mr. DePatto and Mr. Vecchio all spoke on the Article.

Vote on the Main Motion, as amended by Mr. LoPresti.

Article # 2	
	Vote
ALLAN, P.	Y
ATTUBATO, J	Y
BARTOLO, J.	Y
BILLINGLSEY, S.	N
BOESEL, E.	N
BROOKS, W.	Y
CARLSON, E.	Y
CICOLINI, J.	Y
CONNORS, A.	Y
COTTAM, D.	Y
D'ANNA, S.	N
DEVER, M.	N
DEVLIN, F.	N
DINARDO, A.	N
DOCKERY, M.	N
DOHERTY, S.	N
FAIELLA, E.	Y

	Vote		Vote
FALASCA, T.	N	MORIELLO, G.	A
FOWLER, J.	N	MOSCHELLA, D.	Y
GILLIS, J.	N	MOSES, J.	Y
GOODWIN, P.	N	PALCZYNSKI, J.	N
GROARK, L.	N	PETKEWICH, P.	N
HAWKES, T.	N	POLITANO, K.	N
JOHNSON, P.	Y	RING, D. S.	N
JONES, W.	Y	RODENHISER, J.	N
KRAMICH, W.	N	ROSSETTI, P.	Y
LEUCI, J.	N	SERINO, A.	Y
LONG, R.		SPENCER, B.	N
LOPRESTI, A.	Y	STEWART, W.	Y
MALONE, B.	N	SULLIVAN, B.	Y
MALTAIS, S.	N	SWEEZEY, S.	Y
MANOOGIAN, P.	N	VADALA, P.	N
MCCARTHY, S.	Y	VECCHIO, M.	Y
MCLAUGHLIN, P.	N		

Yeas: 21 Nays: 27 at 9:14 p.m.

Vote on Main Motion does  $\mathbf{NOT}$  pass

Mr. Boesel moves to adjourn Sine Die.

Seconded at 9:15 p.m.

Unanimous voice vote to adjourn Sine Die.

Respectfully submitted,

Joanne D. Rappa, Town Clerk